top of page
  • Blue Ridge Mountains News

It Takes A Great Strength

Blue Ridge Mtns News was given the opportunity to visit one-on-one with Fannin County Coroner, the Honorable Becky Callihan.


A resident of the area with a long family history dating to the Cherokee Trail of Tears, she's continued to make her home here stating, “I can't imagine living anywhere else! I am married to a wonderful husband, Don Callihan, a mother of three beautiful children, and a grandmother of seven.”


A graduate of Copper Basin High School, Callihan always “knew I wanted to work on an ambulance”. But, as life often does, her path after high school hit a few roadblocks. Her medical training finally came after her first marriage ended in divorce, but not without struggle. Now a single mother of 2, in addition to jobs needed to care for her family, she began working on the career she'd always wanted.


“I wanted to do something that when I (woke) up in the morning, (I'd) love to go and do.”


So began her studies towards that goal. First as an Emergency Medical Technician (EMT). Callihan then began working with Fannin County EMS along with other training. Her love of the job encouraged her to be a paramedic and firefighter. Callihan became the first female officer in the Fannin County fire department.


“At first I did not want to go into firefighting,” she began. “but found, 1, with EMS, it was mentally challenging having to know medications and illnesses, etc. and 2 with firefighting, it was physically challenging as well. It is mandatory in Fannin County to be both a paramedic-firefighter. We carry our gear and if called out, respond to the scene of a fire with one partner driving the ambulance, the other a fire truck.”


With excitement in her voice, she told BRMN how “one day I just blurted out of the blue 'you know I'd like to be a coroner.” Smiling at the memory, adding, “And it's been uphill from there. It's a blessing every day.”


Not only was Callihan the first female firefighter Officer for Fannin County, but also the first female Coroner for Fannin County. Her official title is Honorable Becky Callihan (FC) because she is also a judge. Coroners can hold inquests where a family has a lot of questions about a person's death. There is a sequestered jury and attorneys. “It's a court to determine the cause of death.”


The position of a coroner is one that takes great strength of character, emotional and physical attributes. In a county with a relatively small population, if you don't know the person directly, you most likely know someone in their family or of their family.


“A lot of people ask me 'how can you do this job?' I tell everybody, 'I have a strong faith in the Lord to get me through, it is by the grace of God'. He gives me the strength, courage, and ability. He's the only reason I have this job”


Callihan went on to explain, “I have to have an emotional wall up to handle the scene – often I cry afterward – even people I don't know, their deaths touch me personally as well – I have to stop and pray for their family – and for God to give me strength to do the job I need to do.”


Then with a smile, she added, “It's my 11th year. I couldn't ask for a better county to be Coroner in.”


While law enforcement is in charge of the scene, the Coroner is in charge of the body. To thoroughly complete an investigation it's imperative the departments work together. When asked about this, Callihan stated, “We have to work as a team. Here in Fannin County, we work very well together. Dane Kirby's guys are wonderful. They will stay on the scene, even on natural death, and help us remove the body. Bodies are taken to the GBI Medical Examiner's Lab in Atlanta. They are also helpful in giving us all kinds of information even as to what funeral home the family wants to use.”


“I would like to be coroner until I am ready to hand it off to someone who cares (about the office) as much as I do. This office needs to be taken seriously. Death is very serious. The life is gone and the people left behind are now the ones who are suffering. You also have to take care of the family and friends left behind that need your help and prayers.” She added, “A familiar face on the scene helps them 'relax' and know it will be taken care of with dignity.”


Callihan is also Treasurer for Fannin Shop with a Cop. “It's a humbling experience to watch those children come through the line with the things they got. Some come through the line with a bible. It just blesses your heart. And they are so excited. We have had children who live here in Fannin County and have never been to WalMart!


When asked for closing thoughts, Callihan expressed genuine appreciation of the support and encouragement Fannin County citizens have and continue to express.


“I am blessed beyond measure,” she said. “I am so proud to serve the people of Fannin County. Thank You.”


17 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page