top of page
  • Blue Ridge Mountains News

“The Sound of Silence” Simon & Garfunkel

by Dr. Elaine Dilbeck LPC CTSS CFTP CPCS


I have received so much feedback from last week’s article. I feel as though I should continue with this subject for a little longer. I find that my week runs in themes sometimes; this is one of them. When I was seeking a theme for my conference last year, I ran into this song by Simon & Garfunkel. I had heard it my entire life but never really paid that much attention to the words. It seemed by divine inspiration that I researched the song to find the meaning behind the words; I was genuinely surprised. Paul Simon said in an interview that he would write his songs sometimes sitting in his bathroom with the lights off to be inspired. Thus, the opening line to the song, “hello darkness, my old friend.” After taking the time to read the words, I understood why he wrote the song. He was frustrated that people never took the time to talk, to greet, to interact, or to share with one another anymore. The line that says “Silence like a cancer grows” spoke something into my soul. Then I began to apply it to the work I do, that line said it all. If we keep silent, it grows like cancer, but when we do break the silence, how do we break it? We are afraid of the silence, but we prefer to sit in it. We stay in that place where it is dark rather than embracing it for healing. When we finally break the silence, it is with pain, hurt, and anger rather than reaching out and asking for help or saying help me to understand the silence. Now you may be saying to yourself, “you tell us one week to embrace the silence, now you are telling us to break it.” Let the silence help us to overcome it’s deafening sounds, so when it is time to break that silence, you will break it in a good way, a healthy way, a healing way. We want to keep those who are around us in silence due to fear of being judged, not wanting the family secret out, or what we are doing to someone in the silence of the night to be revealed. We threatened those who could reveal those secrets to remain in their silence so we can remain hidden in ours. If no one talks, then no one knows those secrets; “silence like a cancer grows.” We become afraid to grow in silence, then become afraid to break the silence. There are two Bible stories I am reminded of: The Story of Joshua. God told him to take the people and march around the walls of Jericho in silence; then God told him to blow the trumpet, then the people were to shout with a loud voice; the walls then came tumbling down. But they first had to march in silence. Elijah. God proved Himself to the king & queen through Elijah, but then Elijah chose to run into the mountains in fear they would kill him. The wind blew, the earth shook, the rocks fell, and Elijah called out to God, saying, “is that you, Lord.” But it was not until Elijah settled down into a cave and became still and quiet that God spoke to him. What do you fear in the Silence? What do you need to say when you break the silence? Who are you? Do you know that you must forgive yourself before you can forgive others? We have been given the opportunity to embrace silence to heal in order to break the silence to bring down our own walls through what is happening in the world right now. How will you embrace the silence so that you can break it when the time comes? How will you use this time to change your life? May God Bless you. Check out my Facebook page. Do not forget about the trauma conference Sept 4 & 5, 2020 in Blairsville https://www.eventbrite.com/e/2nd-annual-silent-screams-trauma-conference-tickets-101573589340


Blue Ridge Mountains News - Fannin County, GA

3139 Blue Ridge Dr

Blue Ridge, GA 30513

www.BlueRidgeMountainsNews.com

Stock Photo:

37 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page