top of page
  • Blue Ridge Mountains News

In the days Ahead

by Dr. Elaine Dilbeck LPC CTSS CFTP CPCS


We need to become more and more conscious of the fact that after we are released from our homes that some problems will be just beginning for some. We will see an increase in divorce, child abuse, domestic violence, and substance abuse. We will have to become more supportive than ever of one another as we help our neighbors to heal from the issues they have been facing since the shutdown due to the virus. The truth is that most people do not have the coping skills needed for an event like the one that has occurred in our country and around the world. We listen to the news which sensationalizes the worse cases. No matter your political beliefs, this event has become out of control. For some, it has been a blessing in disguise and for some a continued nightmare or the beginning of one. We have seen the worse in some and the best in others. We have seen the true character of people that have caused us to shake our heads in disbelief while others have brought tears to our eyes due to compassion. We need to keep in mind as we are grateful that some sense of “normal” will return for the majority, some lives will forever be changed; some for the good and some for the worse. As we see the repercussions of what this fear has put upon us, we need now more than ever need to love and support one another. We allowed fear to rule us instead of guiding us. We allowed fear to take over instead of having faith in ourselves and one another. We allowed fear to take advantage of our neighbor. We allowed fear to drive us to have an excuse to hurt ourselves and our families. We allowed fear to take place of faith in God and His hand on the situation. We allowed fear to cause emotions to rise in us that could be triggers to a trauma that was unnecessary to affect us for the rest of our lives. I know for me; this has been a learning experience not soon forgotten. I have learned so much about myself both as a person and as a therapist. I know I have learned to appreciate those in life who have shown their love and care for me; let go of those of who did not bother to ask if I were okay or just to say hi. I learned that life is precious and should not be wasted. I learned how to be productive in accomplishing goals for myself and those that God has called me to do. I learned to pray in a way that has built my faith and have more conversations with God on a personal level. I learned how to trust in my capabilities and in my calling. Now that I know what may lay ahead for my neighbor and those around me. It is now my job to spread faith instead of fear, healing instead of hurting, justice instead of judgment, discernment instead of destruction. We are commanded to love our neighbor as we love ourselves. If we do not take now to have shown love and forgiveness to ourselves, how do expect to show it to our neighbor? What have you discovered about yourself and the role you will take when this time is complete?

I am available to those who need me. In person or online.

God Bless You can find me on Facebook or my website www.dilbeckcounseling.com


Photo Credit:



51 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page