top of page
  • Blue Ridge Mountains News

Brian Higgins runs for Blue Ridge City Council


First, let me say THANK YOU to everyone for the amazing amount of support and encouragement I have received. I am ready to give this office 110% and I'd like to take just a minute to discuss a few of my bullet points of the upcoming election.


1. To run a clean and honest campaign. - I want to win on merit, not mud-slinging. I would rather prove to you that I am the best candidate for the job, instead of convincing you that the others are not.

2. To maintain as much of Blue Ridge's charm as possible. - Growth and change are inevitable, but it needs to be done in a responsible way.

3. We need to take a much closer look at our infrastructure. - We are all aware of the problems plaguing the water and sewer in our town, broken water pumps, busted water mains, and backed-up drainage all need to be addressed SERIOUSLY before we continue to build. We need to make sure that we can take care of what we already have, before adding any more variables to the mix.

4. Let's use what we already have. - The old Farmer's Market building next to the Swann Drive-In is a wonderful asset that is being underutilized, and you will hear MUCH more about that shortly.

5. A focus on residents. - Tourism is our number one business, but it shouldn't be our number one priority. As a resident of this town I sometimes feel like I am looked over, and I know I'm not the only one. Without the residents we wouldn't have any restaurant servers, or retail cashiers, or even city and county employees that help to maintain and take care of our town. We all deserve to have more control in what happens within the city. Afterall, what happens in the city has a ripple effect throughout the county.

6. Transparency and accountability. - All government employees should abide by this simple rule. If you have a question or comment please ask!

7. I(we) work for you. - We are all civil servants, and if you are not satisfied, please let us know. While I will do my absolute best for ALL residents of Fannin, I realize I am not perfect. I would rather my pride get hurt a little, than to know a simple phone call could help resolve an issue.

8. I have no affiliations. - I am not a politician, nor do I have a business downtown. This means I have no affiliation with any "side", nor do I owe anyone any favors. Any vote I make will be purely based on what is best for all.

9. To know when to quit. - If at anytime I, or you, feel that I am not benefiting the people, please let me know.

10. To continue to help outside of office. - Regardless or whether I win or not, I will continue to serve Fannin though my affiliations with The Blue Ridge Soapbox Derby and The Blue Ridge Humane Society.

Thank you all again for your support! Brian

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page